Let’s All Do The Classic White Tennis Shoe

20140311-081322.jpg

(My illustration of the Adidas Stan Smith)

I would call my love for the classic white tennis shoe, a growing love affair. I think my love for the  all white look stemmed from my summers visiting my grandparents country club, Myopia in Massachusetts. What made tennis exciting there was tennis whites. How exciting! You got to dress up and play tennis. No color. Not even a hat. (We learned this lesson, when my dad was came on the court with a black hat. The horror.) I loved this. So perfect aesthetically. I mean that’s all that really matters in sports right?

Myopia is one of the last of the hold outs for tennis whites, but it used to be common. To fit this standard, tennis shoes were designed in all white styles. There were the classics from Tretorn, K-Swiss, and Adidas. In the 70’s, the white tennis shoe game was seriously improved with the Adidas’ introduction of the Stan Smith shoe. Named after the famous American tennis player, the shoes were all white, with perforations instead of the classic adidas three stripe, and had a green heel patch. My mom told me she had I pair when she was my age. I feel cool by relation. They are the epitome of the white shoe. Clean, classic and cool.

This amazing shoe has held on to its popularity for a long time, and many variations have followed. I first noticed the style’s resurgence on the Marc by Marc Jacobs runway. As I looked farther, I noticed more and more. Then, when Tommy Ton shot his street style from the Fall 2014 collections, I knew they had really made it big. It is by far the most shot type of shoe, and everyone who’s wearing them looks amazing. They add a classic street edge,  and above all are versatile enough to match with just about any type of outfit.

20140310-145850.jpg

Marc by Marc Jacobs SS14

20140310-145829.jpg

Jacquemus SS14

20140310-145837.jpg

A.L.C. FW14

20140310-141428.jpg

Tommy Ton

20140310-141503.jpg

Tommy Ton

20140310-145815.jpg

Marline Deeleeuw from Style.com’s Amber Kallor’s instagram

20140310-145822.jpg

Saint Laurent

20140310-141421.jpg

Marc Jacobs closing his FW14 show

Want to get your own?

Here are a few of favorite classics.

1. Adidas- Stan Smith. Obviously. or Superstar

2. Nike- Air Force or J. Crew x Nike

3. K-Swiss

Here are some of the designer versions. Very pricy, but fun to look at.

1. Saint Laurent

2. Marc by Marc Jacobs

3. Common Projects

Leave a Reply

