SF Symphony Opening Night

I’ve never been a huge fan of the symphony, but the opening night last week totally changed my opinion. Since I so rarely have an opportunity to dress up, I decided to go vintage shopping. My favorite vintage store is Relic Vintage on Haight street, so I knew I would find something I loved there. Not to my surprise, I found the perfect dress. It was a long, sheer, black dress from the 30’s. The 30’s are one of my favorite decades for dresses so it was perfect. The hard part was finding something good to wear underneath. After days of searching I decided on a simple black slip. Since it was too long, I had to hem it so it would meet the a lace layer of my dress perfectly. I put this off until about 2 hours before we needed to leave. I got it done, but it kept thing exciting!

IMG_1836

My hair was inspired from the Valentino SS12 hair which I have been wanting to attempt since first saw the runway pictures. Over a year!IMG_1834

Now I’ll actually get to the music part. Like I said earlier, I’ve never really liked the symphony. I loved it this time though! It was a fun theme and Audra McDonald was the guest singer. Having the amazing music from the symphony and the amazing voice from Audra was perfect. She sang songs from musicals and included my favorite from My Fair Lady when I was 6, “I Could Have Danced All Night”. In the middle, she had the audience sing along and I have to admit while we didn’t sound as good as her, the acoustics in Davies Symphony hall are pretty impressive. IMG_0411

During intermission the sun had just gone down and you could see city hall glowing in the dark. It was beautiful and felt like the perfect addition to a magical night.

IMG_0413

(First 2 photos thanks to my mom on my Canon T3i, and second two I took on my dad’s iPhone)

2 thoughts on “SF Symphony Opening Night

Leave a Reply

