Organizing Your Closet: A Stress Relieving Tutorial

Whenever I feel stressed, I know it’s time to organize my closet. I’m not really sure if my closet is messy because I’m stressed, or if I’m stressed because my closet is messy. It’s probably a combination of both. So today, when I woke up at 3am and couldn’t get back to sleep until 6 (Totally not fun, but at least I could internet shop and luckily this doesn’t happen every day!). I knew something had to be done, and that’s where the closet cleaning came in this morning.

My goal for my clothes is to only have things that I can just put on and I know they’ll work. I want things that are fun, make me happy and aren’t just place holders that I feel a nag of dislike every time I wear. It’s really hard for me to part with anything, so this is something I’m majorly working on.

I decided to organize my t-shirt/pajama/sports drawers which contain a lot of those nag pieces. Here’s my tutorial of my time-tested  method for organizing drawers. Something about having everything in order and getting rid of things you don’t want is so calming. Hopefully this will be as helpful to you as it is to me.

Image

The before picture.

Image

1. Turn on some music! I prefer faster paced electronic, like Crystal Castles for jobs like this.

Image

2. Clear off a large space on your floor and dump everything out. I recommend just doing one drawer at a time to make it less overwhelming.

Image

3. Fold everything up and organize each item in a way that works for you. I group similar types together, ex. sleeveless shirts, or fancier shirts, but there are many different ways. You could go by color, frequency of wear or occasion for wear. Also take this time to sort our anything you don’t want or need any more. I do this by making two piles, the Goodwill pile and another pile  that I keep for a couple months to decide if I really want to part with those clothes. It helps ease the separation. I have slight hoarder tendencies, you can probably see.

4. Place each pile back into your drawer. Et voila!

ImageImageImage

Shirts                                                         Pajamas                                            Exercise Clothes

2 thoughts on “Organizing Your Closet: A Stress Relieving Tutorial

Leave a Reply

