and the sky was all violet

_MG_3146

Leith Clark is as cool as can be. She founded Lula, is a stylist for brands like Orla Kiely, and just did a great glasses collaboration with Warby Parker. Issue 17 was her last time at Lula which is heartbreaking, but don’t fear. She is now on to a new magazine…..drumroll……Violet!
When I heard about this, I knew it had to be mine. So, while I was in New York last week, I tracked it down. Now, I thought this would be an easy task. Big city, many magazine stores, known for fashion and writing, but no siree. I took a taxi from the Met at 5:30 and went through rush hour traffic. I arrived at 6:01. Closed and gated.
I did not give up. I walked and took the subway way downtown to my next location. Using google maps, I tried to find it, but there was an boarded empty building in it’s place. I asked people near by, and confirmed my suspicion. It had closed and moved. I called the shop, and luckily they had only moved a couple blocks down.
When I walked in, I saw that it was all worth my trouble. Magazine heaven. My kind of heaven. I picked up Violet, and a couple other favorites-Lula (I will always love you Lula), and i-D.
Leith Clark’s inspirations for the title are perfectly fitting and make it even more of a gem. She named Violet, “Namely because it’s a strong word, my favorite scent, my favorite Hole song, my goddaughter’s name, and also the name of my mysterious great-aunt who I only met once—she wore a kimono and pink lipstick and had naturally shiny silver hair.” (style.com).

Let’s take a look a the contributors- all super cool  people. I loved Stephanie La Cava’s  book, An Extraordinary Theory of Objects. Luella Bartley is doing a very cool job at Marc by Marc Jacobs. Zoe Karzan’s movie Ruby Sparks is one of my favorites. I could go on and on…

_MG_3153

Violet is not only filled with beautiful images, but beautiful text. The text might even be better then the images, which is a rarity for fashion mags. But Violet is definitely not a normal fashion magazine.

Feminism has so many different viewpoints, but Hadley Freeman’s ideas are  clear and simplify it to make sense. I don’t agree with every point, but I really do with this… “If you ever meet a woman-or anyone for that matter-who says they are not a feminist, ask them if they believe women are human beings who deserve all the same opportunities as other human beings. Because honestly, that’s all it is. Not favoritism-equality. ” (Hadley Freeman)

Also this feminist test is spot on.

_MG_3171

 

There is an illustrated article about different animals and gender roles. There are examples of matriarchal and equal partnerships in animals like elephants and emperor penguins.

_MG_3158

 

Davina Catt interview artist Anh Doung. This is some of her work La Trilogie de l’Absence III and La Trilogie de L’Absence I. They are the most amazing portraits I have ever seen. Such strong images that never get boring.

 

_MG_3162

 

Here come the images…

 

 

_MG_3166

 

_MG_3163

_MG_3167

_MG_3168

 

_MG_3164

2 thoughts on “and the sky was all violet

Leave a Reply

